Twitter goes nuts over Almondgate

Last night, Twitter feeds Australia-wide inexplicably became filled with tweets about ‘activated almonds’. The first image that came to mind is someone yelling ‘ACTIVATE!’ and a Transformers-esque almond army springing into action and guns sprouting out from their nutty exteriors. You too? Thought so.

A quick Google search revealed the article that sparked the bizarre trend. Turns out celebrity chef, Pete Evans, wrote an unbelievably pretentious food diary for Melbourne paper The Sunday Age, which you can see below:

Not only does the guy have two breakfasts, but he considers emu meatballs and cultured vegies to be a normal part of his diet. Apparently it’s not enough for a carrot to be a carrot anymore, it also has to visit the opera and converse in fluent French. Regular food just can’t compete with Pete’s almond army and snooty, monocle-wearing vegetables.

Today, Pete hit back on his Facebook page, writing:

“IGNORANCE is not bliss . . . I’m occasionally ridiculed because I choose to eat a nutrient dense diet, and I find it so bizarre as to why people sometimes find my food choice’s so offensive [sic]?

“All I know is that I’m well aware of the consequences of eating ‘dead’ food, and also I’m a father, and I take that privilege very seriously, so for me striving for optimum health whenever I can so that I can be a responsible role model for my daughters, and still be able to surf right up until the end, is the obvious choice for me.”

And then accompanied this with this quote:
“All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.”
Really, Pete? Responding to the criticism about being pretentious with a philosophical quote justifying why you like to activate your nuts? We’re not convinced.
Leave a Reply

